Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rowansmom_1029

looking for poochella and her friend...

rowansmom_1029
16 years ago

Hi!

I was reading the archived posts and decided to check the "my page" of poochella and lizalily (not sure if I got that name right, sorry!)and was excited to see that one of you mentioned that you had fibromyalgia! Here's why:

I have fibromyalgia (actually, more than that but it is a long story) and am very interested in growing dahlias to sell at farmer's markets. But I can't figure out if I am crazy to even think about it. I am definately sick, but on the other hand I am trying to find a way to make money doing something I love... AND if I do get better (still have some hope, and I am only 42) then I would love to have a full-fledged cut flower business.

Anyway... I was wondering if those on this forum that have long-term illness or disability would want to chime in with any advice. I have been gardening for 8 years, slowly, in my own garden. I love growing flowers!

Anyone here sell at farmer's markets or to florists?

Thanks!

Carolyn

Comments (5)

• Noni Morrison
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi, Carolyn! You caught me in Heerlen in the Netherlands on our working vacation. DH just finished the work part and now comes our 2 weeks of seeing Germany and ancestor hunting.

Yes, I was diagnosed with Fibro about 20 years ago and gardening is one of the few things that I can do that seems to make me feel better...I highly recommend it! I can not walk on City sidewalks or shopping malls for very long at all but on the soft earth in my garden I can work outside for hours, resting when I need to then returning to the job.

WIth a disorder like Fibro that makes us feel so crummy, Gardening, with its wonderful sensory experiences, is a real upper. I do get my guy to dig holes for me (Bad arthritis in my knees) and he runs the rototiller and mows lawns but I do everything else myself.