Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
siichan

Desperate!!! Need advice about digging dahlia

siichan
12 years ago

So I just learned that we're getting 6" of snow tomorrow. I was so devastated because we don't usually get snow until late November. My dahlias are still blooming beautifully out there, I planned to shear them early November, leave them in the ground for 2 weeks, and dig them up. Now the weather forecast drives me crazy! We didn't even get first frost yet. I don't know what to do. This is my first time saving dahlia tubers, so I need your advice. Do I dig them up now? Do I leave them? They're still full of flowers, so will digging them now hurt them? Any tips? Thank you!!

Comments (9)

• MommaCarp
    12 years ago

I think that a snowfall would pretty much be the same as a frost to a dahlia. As long as the ground doesn't freeze and damage the tubers (which it shouldn't for quite awhile yet), you can still dig and store them as you normally would. I would cut them down after the snow, leave them for a week or two, and divide and store them as usual. You might want to cut as many flowers as you can to enjoy before the snow comes and puts an end to your dahlia season, though.
    I'd also like to say I have only been planting dahlias for a couple years, so if any of the more experienced and knowledgable folks have better info, I defer to them!

• siichan
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks MommaCarp. The problem is, I wouldn't know if the ground is going to freeze with the snow or not. So if I cut them down after the snow, I'm afraid I would be too late. Or would the snow actually act as insulation? Or should I just dig them up today?

• mytime
    12 years ago

The ground will not freeze right away. Check your forecast...what is the weather supposed to be in a couple of days? If you normally don't get cold weather until the end of November, you probably won't get frozen ground until then.

• siichan
    Original Author
    12 years ago