Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
katydid0022

Wintering dahlia tubers

katydid0022
15 years ago

I live in an area of Zone 5 so my Dahlias will die if I leave them out for the winter. Just wondering if anyone can tell me how I can overwinter the tubers and when do I dig them up. We have not had a frost yet but we're suppose to have our first frost this week.

I use to just buy new dahlias every year but I'm thinking ahead and would like to save money in the spring and just replant the ones I have already. This is my first time over wintering tubers.

Comments (12)

• anna_in_quebec
    15 years ago

Many people have different methods, ranging from the very elaborate to very simple. I dug mine up yesterday as the frost had made"cooked spinach" out of the plants (sad to see). I cut down the foliage, dug up the tubers carefully with a garden fork, shook off the excess soil and placed them on newspapers (I never wash them completely - I don't find it necessary). Now they are all in the basement, where they will dry off for a week or two. But don't wait too long or they will start to shrivel. Last year, circumstances didn't allow me to tend to them all right away, so I simply sprayed them lightly with water, and that kept them plump and firm. The rest is basic: I trim the roots and any remaining stems, wrap each tuber in newspaper or rag paper, and store them together in a box or crate (I also use an old chest of drawers, very handy as I can check on them now and again throughout the winter to make sure they are ok. Most of my tubers survived that way and I have had a higher survival rate than storing in vermiculite. I hope that helps a bit.

• sudiepav
    15 years ago