Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
danagr

Any Advise on Growing Dahlia for Newbie

danagr
12 years ago

I'm currently selling veggies at a market, with the help of my daughter and she wants me to also grow some dahlias to sell in bouquets. But I'm a newbie to growing Dahlias. Any suggestion/tips would be greatly appreciated to help me accomplish this task. Also what are some good varieties to use for bouquets or what should I look for to start with? Also I'm located in South Central WI. Thanks for your help in advanced!!

Dana

Comments (13)

• teddahlia
    12 years ago

All beginners should plant Chilsons Pride, a cut flower with pink and white blends. It is probably the most planted dahlia in the USA. Otherwise, study the Swan Island catalog and if a variety is listed as being a good cut flower, you can be sure it is. Bride to Be is one of their best selling cut flowers and people order it for weddings and sometimes the orders are for over 100 flowers of it!

• danagr
    Original Author
    12 years ago

What is the best way for staking your dahlias?

• teddahlia
    12 years ago

Cut flower growers plant dahlias in rows. Use steel T posts that are 6 feet tall. Grow dahlias in double rows, spacing tubers at 12-18 inches apart with 6 inches between the double row. Place two T posts at the end of the row, two feet apart. Place two more T posts every 15 feet or so. Use 170 pound baling twine and tie at 18 inches and 40 inches. If dahlias fall down in the row, use short pieces of twine to cross tie to hold them up.

If you are a small grower, you can put one T post in the ground and plant 4 dahlias around the post and tie them to the post.

If you are a mega grower like Swan Island(45 acres of dahlias), you will control the height of the plants by