Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ziyakr

Where to overwinter dalia tubers?

ziyakr
12 years ago

Ok, I have read the recommended online sites and more than 25 pages of these forums but not found an answer to my problems (tho I have learned a great deal, and been mightily tempted by all your lovely gardens). I'm a pretty new gardener and this is my first year with successfull dahlias. I have 3 of the Mystic dahlias (2 yellow and a red) that have been doing really well all summer but now I'm nearly ready to dig up the tubers and try keeping them for replanting.

First question is: Where should I keep the tubers? My garage is not heated and stays the same temp as outside (winter temps in Kansas City can fluctuate wildly from 60F down to -10F) and my basement is heated to the same temps as the house (about 64 usually). Is it better to let them stay warm all season? My fridge isn't an option since it tends to freeze veggies, I wouldn't trust it with bulbs or tubers.

Second question: The plants are in wooden half barrels that I'm planning on removing from my landscaping this weekend (they are ancient and rotting) but we haven't had a hard frost yet and the dahlias are still blooming. How important is waiting for a frost and the foliage to die back?

Thanks for any thoughts you may have, and sorry if I've duplicated other forum posts!

Comments (13)

• teddahlia
    12 years ago

If you have an old fashioned root cellar, that would be ideal. Otherwise, most people store their dahlias in the garage and put them next to the warm wall that adjoins the house. Since it gets so cold in your area, I would cover them with as much insulation as possible. They cannot be allowed freeze. You could buy an inexpensive remote thermometer and monitor the temperature during especially cold weather. Bringing the dahlias inside the house during the really cold snaps would not harm them.

• oscarthecat
    12 years ago

Yes I have the same question.