Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tropic_lover

How do I divide this???

I have been digging and dividing dahlias all weekend. I am going to store them in Saran Wrap for the first time this year. Most of my dahlias have not been too hard to divide but then I dig up something like this...

{{gwi:664187}}

This is show-n-tell. I have no idea where to even begin to cut this thing apart without mutilating it. The tubers are so dense and tightly packed that I don't really see a place to start cutting. Should I just hack it into a couple of pieces and go from there? Any suggestions?

Linda

Comments (7)

• redmond_phyllis
    12 years ago

I'm not an expert at dividing, but I've been told that the first thing to do is get the little stick like roots out of the clump so you can see what you have. My mom also told me to cut off the "rat tails." My Show N Tells have never been that densely packed, and I've grown them for years! But . . . neither have I had as many Show N Tell blooms as you had!
    Phyllis

• monet_g
    12 years ago

Linda, Pyllis is right. Get rid of the rat tails and any tubers that are to small or delicate (thin necks, thin tubers) to overwinter so you'll be able to see better what you have.

Then if you need to, just cut it into 2-3 pieces and go from there. I've worked with ones like yours before and began the job with trepidation, too, but still got many viable tubers out of the lot.

I've been having excellent luck with dusting my tubers in sulfur, loosely packing in plastic (grocery) bags and putting them in the root cellar for the winter.

Gail

• Linda's Garden z6 Utah
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Well I made it thru the show-n-tell and Candlelight which was just as bad. What a pain! I have dug most of my dahlias and I think I still have 9 more to do. Thanks for your advice!

Gail, so you just put them in bags without any peat moss or wood chips? Maybe I will try that with some of them.

Thanks
    Linda :)

• monet_g
    12 years ago