Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
homemommy_gw

Dahlia Dilemma

homemommy
15 years ago

Hi!!

Well, it is that time of the year again, to dig and store my limited collection of Dahlias! I am relatively new to the game. 2 years ago I did not know they needed to be overwintered indoors (Just outside of Toronto) and lost all of them. Last year I managed to save a few in sawdust in the fridge that I started from seed... This year, I have two collections I am trying to save, with two unique problems and not sure how to handle it!

Batch #1.

My mother in law usually throws out her Dahlias, but decided to let me have them this year when we went to see her for Thanks Giving. They dug them out several days prior and left them on a table outside to "dry out". By the time I got to them, they where rather shriveled out, and she instructed me to "make sure they where good and dry before I stored them or they would rot". Well, I know not to do that, but by the time I could get them home to deal with them properly, they are all rather soft. They look like potatoes that perhaps if you where sort of desperate could eat that night, but would not dare leave another day with plans of consumption! They are soft and shriveled. What is my best game plan for keeping these overwinter? Or are they likely too far gone? Should I try to resprout? Should I soak in water for several hours? should I just box them up and hope for the best?

Batch #2