Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linht_gw

can tubers be too large to be usefel?

linht
16 years ago

This is my first year digging & storing. Some of my plants tubered up really well while others not so much. The tubers I ended up saving vary in sizes. Some plants produced tubers that are almost a foot long and about 1.25 inches in diameter. They are much larger than any tuber I've been sent from the suppliers. My question is, is there an ideal size for a tuber? Will these larger ones still produce a decent plant? Thanks for any advice...

Comments (17)

• crdahlia
    16 years ago

It makes no difference what size the tuber is as to what type of plant they produce. Tiny ones, if they are well filled out and solid can produce great plants. If I have a foot long one, I would cut off part of the end, and dip the cut part in sulphur before I store. If you aren't comfortable with that, I would cut off part of it and dip in sulphur before I plant. I've been told by many dahlia experts that the larger ones take longer to form good roots because they have so much food they can use in the tuber. They also make planting difficult.

Teresa

• linht
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks Teresa!

I can definitely cut it down, no prob. All the large ones I have, contain at least one visible eye so I'm hoping they'll do their thing. However, when you say "they also make planting difficult" do you mean they are less likely or will take longer to sprout and grow?

• crdahlia
    16 years ago

I'm talking about the hole size. It has to be much wider in diameter to accommodate the longer width. They seem to sprout in about the same length of time, but the sprout doesn't grow as fast because they don't form roots as fast.

• Poochella
    16 years ago

I'll chime in with Teresa to say that cut off large tubers do very well. Let the cut dry to the touch before storing.