Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tmaki

Dahlia books

Teresa_MN
9 years ago

Hello all - I am fairly new to dahlias. I've spent a number of years growing hostas. In the last couple of years I've terraced a sunny hill in my yard and have given dahlias a try.

My question is - is there a book on dahlias you would recommend? The hosta world has an encyclopedia and a few other good books. I was hoping there would be something similar that some of you might recommend.

Thanks in advance!
Teresa

Comments (8)

• queen_gardener
    9 years ago

I just got one from the library -
    The Plant Lover's Guide to Dahlias by Andy Vernon
    I haven't cracked the cover until now, I got it yesterday with a bunch of other holiday craft books, but it has pretty pictures! It says "In Association with Kew Royal Botanical Gardens" on the front, so it must be good, right? :-)
    There are lots of named varieties in it. New book smell, I think I'm the first person to get it, so crisp and clean and wonderful! I love books just as much as plants! :-)

• Teresa_MN
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for the prompt response Queen! I just got that book in the mail. The book starts out with a section on designing with flamboyant flowers. It lists a bunch of buddy plants before it gets to the dahlias themselves.

Aside from that I did stumble upon the page with the Dahlia named after Taylor Swift. She is everywhere! LOL

• CCvacation
    9 years ago

Are you looking for an encyclopedia, garden growing information, or show growing information?

With dahlias, there are so many ways of doing the same thing that buying a book about one author's technique would be akin to learning how to fry chicken, but not about baking, broiling, BBQing, etc etc. I don't know one that attempts to approach growing dahlias like a recipe book, which would be more appropriate in my mind. Most gardening books just dedicate a paragraph or two to dahlias, and focus on the pretty pictures.