Return to the Dahlia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
new to dahlias - questions about growing them in the south

Posted by
abbie-road 7 south
(gw:abbie-road) on
Wed, Nov 29, 06 at 16:10

hello there,

i'm new to dahlias. i order a lot of flowers, bulbs, trees, etc. online, and i'm thinking of ordering some dahlia tubers online from swan island, dahlias.com. does anyone have any experience with this company? good? bad? from which companies do you buy tubers / seeds?

my other question is about growing them in a warm, humid summer climate. i saw on another post that they're somewhat sensitive to heat. zone 7b (i think it's "b") greenville, sc gets quite hot and humid in summers. i did my research before asking questions. how / when should i start them? should they be started inside like people from cooler places like WA, IL, NY, NJ, WV, etc. suggest? or since our winters are fairly mild, should they be started in the ground?

i appreciate any help you can provide. i've been so impressed with the friendly and generous responses i've gotten on these forums. thank you in advance.

abbie

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: new to dahlias - questions about growing them in the south

I know several people who like Swan Island- but I'm not one of them- I once ordered 6 dahlias from them- 4 didn't eye up & the other 2 weren't what I ordered. They wouldn't replace anything- but that was about 20 years ago & they may have improved since then- but I haven't ordered from them since.
Look on the Colorado Dahlia site for the list of suppliers - they go from A-W & there's a lot of good ones there- even some in your area so you could ask them about special conditions where you live. There's also a Carolinas dahlia society that has many helpful members.

o

• Posted by efam z7b GA (My Page) on
    Thu, Nov 30, 06 at 9:23

Abbie,
I'm in 7b and the Dahlia Society of GA (located mainly in Atlanta) has been very helpful.