Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aaaaaaaa_gw

Dahlia tubers in potting soil.

aaaaaaaa
13 years ago

Hi,

This fall I got many dahlia tubers from a friend of mine for free!! She buys the tubers new every season--does not store the tubers for next season--reason --she says it is better to buy each season than struggle with them whole winter!!

This is my first year with these tubers. I have just buried them in a MG potting soil with very little moister in a container. Container is indoor with rest of the plants.

Question is--is this alright? Will the tubers survive without any fungus, drying out etc.

I have always admired these flowers but never grown them in my garden.

Any advice/suggestions welcome.

Thanks in advance.

Anna

Comments (10)

• oscarthecat
    13 years ago

Anna I am afraid if you store them in Miracle Grow potting soil the tubers will sprout and begin to grow. Vermiculite would be a much better medium for storage. Steve S.

• monet_g
    13 years ago

Anna, Steve may be right, but I have heard of people doing this. However, very little moisture in a very cool (not freezing) place. Basically in conditions where they won't grow.
    Gail

• aaaaaaaa
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Steve--thanks for your response.
    I did get some Vermiculite. What do I do next? Remove the tubers from the potting soil and plant them in the Vermiculite? Or do I have to mix something else with this?
    Do I have to water it just so to keep it moist OR just leave it without water till next spring?
    Sorry, this is the first time with these tubers and I am little nervous.

Would appreciate your response.

Thanks
    Anna

• oscarthecat
    13 years ago

Just use by itself. Do not add water. Store in cool dry place.

• aaaaaaaa
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Now I buried tubers in Vermiculite in a container which has no drain holes and left it in the cool dry basement.