Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bradk_gw

Help with Winter Storage Location

bradk
15 years ago

I seem to have a problem with where to store my Dahlias. This is my first year having them and I've learned through this forum, that the temp needs to be around 40 degrees.

Our basement is too warm and my attatched garage (which I thought would be the ideal place) has been 60 dgrees for the last few days when it's been 35-40 outside.

What will I do when I can't keep moving them outside during the day????

Brad

Comments (16)

• loswan
    15 years ago

Are you sure it has to be 40 degrees? The plants I have just finished blooming and now its 20+ degrees. Can these Dahlia's stay out there? What do I do? Cut the plant away and dig up the bulbs? another issue, I planted 7 bulbs and 4 came up as plants. I'm not sure where to dig up the 3 that didn't come up. It's my first year and I get so confused. Long Island usually has mild winters. Can't they survive out there?

• bradk
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Anybody got any ideas??

Now the stinking temp. outside today is going to get to 57!!!!!

No telling what it will be in the garage!!
    Are they going down the tubes???? Or should I say Tubers???
    Help!

Here is a link that might be useful: My Container Gardening Website

• jroot
    15 years ago

bradk,

I think that the OPTIMUM temperature or preferred temperature is around 40 degreesF. That being said, there is no rule that says that has to be the case.

If I were you, I would try to find the coolest spot in your basement, near the floor, away from heat regiters. I would put a piece of salvage wood on the floor, put the tubers into a carboard box, as I have said before, put the box on the wood, and cover with remnant old sheet or something ( NOT plastic ), that would minimize the temperature fluctuations of the house affecting their temperature. The coolness of the floor will help keep the temperature down.

Does that help?

• loswan
    15 years ago