Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rsts_gw

Rambling again

rsts
17 years ago

Brooke, don't think I have specifically commented on your (husband's) new camera. The pictures are truly outstanding. It sure is nice to get one that gives true color. It is aggravating when one does not give true color of a registered one, but beyond frustrating, when it is one our own little darlings. Still waiting on seedling pictures.

I have now collected all daylily seeds from dabbing this year. Had a little over 1,500 seeds. My goal is 2,000 seeds each year, but I don't mind just 1,500 until I get weeds, grass and nut sedge under control a little better.

I am still learning greenhouse management. I guess this was an average year. Lost lots of pods within about a week. Not sure why. It was just after I had a spider mite infestation and sprayed for them, but also just after temps got really hot. I also used several CVs that were not very fertile.

Biggest disappointments:

1. LINDA DANIEL. I bought this one for the double edge. The bloom was what I expected, but got only 2 pods (10 seeds) from 40 crosses. It did a little better as a pollen parent (9 of 19 - 65 seeds)

2. FRANCIS OF ASSISI. I liked the bloom, but it was 2 of 7 - 6 seeds as a pod parent and 0 of 5 as a pollen parent.

3. One of my own little darlings. It was 0 of 12 as a pod parent and 4 of 14 as a pollen parent. It has earned a spot in the compost bin. Do not pass GO, go directly to Compost Bin!

Most Pleasing:

1. I think my favorite new daylily was VICTORIAN LACE. It had beautiful blooms and was over 50% fertile both ways. I have 302 seeds from it (both ways)

2. My favorite seedling was one that was given to me by an internet friend. It is a ruffled, mostly yellow, seedling from HOW BEAUTIFUL HEAVEN MUST BE and a seedling. It was not as fertile a pod parent as I would like, but made up for it as a pollen parent. Have 368 seeds from it (both ways).