Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maximus7116

Japanese Iris

maximus7116
17 years ago

Don't know the name of this Japanese Iris, but it's the only one of three planted last year that survived. Isn't she a beauty?

{{gwi:633978}}

Comments (16)

• katlynn719
    17 years ago

Very nice! I bought several of these this year. I hope they will bloom next year.
    Kathy

• tweetypye
    17 years ago

Chris, I have lots of JI also. Some of which are planted directly in the stream bed that flows into my pond. They love it there. Your's is a beauty.
    Jan

• laurelin
    17 years ago

Jan,

When you planted your JI, how close to the water's edge did you put them? My parents have a slow, shallow creek in their back yard, and I'd love to plant some Japanes irises for them, but I have no experience with them. Do you have any advice or tips so I don't invest some $$ then kill the irises off the first year?

Laurel

• tweetypye
    17 years ago

Laurel, mine are directly in the stream bed, right on the edge. I just anchored them with rocks and gravel and they are now huge clumps. They love it in the stream. They love to have their "feet" wet, so you could just plant them right on the edge of the creek I'm sure, if you don't want to actually put them in the creek.
    Hope this helps.
    Here is a photo of my stream so you can see the two large clumps of JI in the stream. They aren't blooming in this photo, but you can see how they are planted, I think.
    {{gwi:633979}}
    Jan

• laurelin
    17 years ago

Wonderful! Perfect! Thanks Jan, I think I can do that with no trouble. I'll have to go check out Iris City Gardens for JIs again - I'm doing some garden makeover stuff for my parents' 40th anniversary while they're gone on a 15 day trip to Alaska. Whoohoo! While the cats are away the mouse will play - in the dirt, of course.

Laurel

• numama
    17 years ago