Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tny78

Question about crosses

TNY78
10 years ago

This is probably a silly question, and I almost feel ridiculous asking, but I can't find the answer anywhere online...

I've been crossing my own daylilies for a couple of years, and completely understand how the process of intentionally crossing daylilies works....but...what I can't find is how the crosses work when pods form and I haven't crossed them. For example, I had quite a few pods set on Big Kiss, but didn't intentionally use it as a pod parent. So....is it Big Kiss x Unknown, or Big Kiss x Big Kiss? I always harvest them, but I don't know what the proper way to label them is. I don't know whether to thank the bees for taking pollen from another daylily, or if it self-pollinated...or both...help!

Thanks,
Tammy

Comments (6)

• Julia WV (6b)
    10 years ago

BIG KISS X UNKNOWN is the way I would label it since I would have no idea if it was a cross of itself or pollen carried from a nearby plant.
    BTW, no question is silly.

Julia

• TNY78
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks Julia :) I feel like that's something I should have already known, but I just couldn't find the answer! That's how I've been labeling them, but then I think I started to overthink it...

Tammy

• alameda/zone 8/East Texas
    10 years ago

I breed horses - when we show pedigree information, we do thusly: [father x mother]. When I have a pod like yours that is fertilized by the bees or ?? I label [unknown x Big Kiss], as I look at the plant with the pod as the mother. I wouldn't think it matters, as long as you know which is which. The opposite may be correct in plant breeding. This is just easier for me to remember since I have classified my horses this way for so many years.
    Judith

• TNY78
    Original Author
    10 years ago