Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zaphod42_gw

Looking for Flore Pleno

zaphod42
12 years ago

Hi. I'm new to daylilies, but was looking into using a variety in a difficult spot in my yard. I just read Planting the Dry Shade Garden: The Best Plants for the Toughest Spot in Your Garden by Graham Rice. He recommended the Flore Pleno daylily. I have a dry shade area I'm trying to fill and thought this might be a great way to bring it some color. The daylilies would be in a spot that is part-shade and not so dry as the rest of the bed is.

Two questions -

Anyone had luck with this variety in a shadier location?

I'm having a hard time locating. I think it has two names. Flore Pleno is the one that the book gave, but then Kwanso pops up online when I search. Also, is it very common? I'd like to purchase larger sizes locally as a first choice, but if its not likely to be found, I'll order. Recommendations for where I can purchase? Thank you!

Comments (4)

• dementieva
    12 years ago

If Flore Pleno is the same as Kwanso, you'll probably have better luck searching for Kwanso and its alternate spellings (Kwanzo, maybe others).

There's a house down the street with a large planting of it in a very shady garden, and it seems to do well (she didn't know what it was but I'm pretty sure it's Kwanso). I've never grown it personally. I bet some other people here can help with their own experiences.

Nate

• weedyseedy
    12 years ago