Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardengalrn

Moving daylilies

gardengalrn
17 years ago

Hi folks, this is my first time to the forum. While I'm an intermediate type gardener of veggies, I've not grown daylilies before. A friend's father gave me a wonderful selection last fall, which I planted in my garden. My intent was to plant them to keep them viable and move them when we decided to move this summer. I will be moving in mid-late June. Now my problem is this: Not everyone will appreciate my garden areas when we go to sell so hubby is wanting to till it in and plant grass. Meaning, he would like the daylilies and anything else I plan to keep out of there in the next few weeks. They are sprouting now with this gorgeous weather we've been having. I don't mind if they don't flower this year as long as I don't kill them or maim them for good;) Any suggestions? I have plenty of 5 gal buckets that I thought maybe in a pinch I could plant them in to hold over until they found their permanent home. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks, Lori

Comments (7)

• jkunkel
    17 years ago

I think that you would be fine planting them in the 5 gallon buckets. If they are large clumps I would not put more than 1 plant in each bucket though. Make sure that they are clean and have drainage holes. Just a cool tip that you may not know since you aren't that familiar with daylilies, and you grow veggies. You can eat daylily flowers, scapes and parts of the roots! I didn't know this untill I read a book from the library about them, I thought that this was an interesting fact. I've never tried it, not sure what it tastes like, but they did have a few recipes. I did not copy them down though. Sorry, but im sure they may have some on the internet somewhere if you are interested.

• Roberta_z5
    17 years ago