Return to the Daylily Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Switching to Day Lilies

Posted by brigarif Lahore Pakistan (My Page) on
Sat, Apr 23, 11 at 1:26

Hi,
I have been Breeding Amaryllis for the last fifteen years, now I would like to try my hand on growing Day Lilies.
Will a friend help me by exchanging seeds with amaryllis seeds or gift them to me.
Just put a few seeds in a postal envelope and post it at following address.
Brig. M Arif Khan
3/A-G-Gulberg II
Lahore
Zip Code 54660
Pakistan
E-Mail: brigarif@hotmail.com
Thanks Arif

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Switching to Day Lilies

I'd like to suggest that you go the the Lily Auction where you can buy daylily seeds for reasonable prices. Personally, I prefer those in which both parents are similar in appearance. I would be happy to suggest certain ones, if you are interested.

Here is the link: http://www.daylily.com/cgi-bin/auction.cgi?dispsd

I gave away all my seeds when we moved, so I don't have any at present. I won't have any more now until fall.

Nancy

o

I don't have any seeds, sorry. I was just wondering if it's really possible to just send seeds abroad in an envelope?? I thought it was prohibited.

o

I think the seeds would sprout in the time it would take to send them to Pakistan. Just my opinion. I have had them come from Canada to Michigan and they were sprouted and died by the time they got here. This time of year when they are removed from the fridge,they are ready to sprout!

Nancy VB

o

The last several puchases of seeds from the Lily Auction remained in their little zip plastic bags and went unsoaked, etc. for more than a month due to illness. They did not sprout until I finally soaked them in distilled water and hydrogen peroxide. I was immensely pleased, as I thought I had waited too long. The resulting seedlings are all vigorously growing outdoors now.

I would think that an air-mail envelope to Pakistan would not take very long to arrive. It's worth a try.

Nancy

o