Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stpetegardengal

Best/favorite purple daylily?

stpetegardengal
14 years ago

Hello,

I'm new to daylilies, and see that this could become a serious addiction. Could anyone recommend a dark purple one that is a special favorite?

Thanks so much!

Comments (20)

• lotodig
    14 years ago

not sure what shade of purple you are looking for but here are a few of my pavorites.

JAMIE GIRL
    {{gwi:688160}}

JENNIFER TRIMMER
    1.photobucket.com/albums/aa277/lotodig/?action=view&current=JENNIFERTRIMMER.jpg"; target="_blank">{{gwi:688162}}

LARRY ALLEN MILLER

{{gwi:688163}}

LARRY'S OBSESSION
    {{gwi:688164}}

LIEGE AND LEIF

{{gwi:688166}}

LINDA BECK...(my favorite)
    201.photobucket.com/albums/aa277/lotodig/?action=view&current=LINDABECKGROUP.jpg"; target="_blank">{{gwi:688168}}

PURPLE PEACE

{{gwi:688169}}

I have more but these are the one I linger over when I'm in the garden, I can't get enough of the beauty of them all.

Good luck and and enjoy your journey,,,,but don't go near the Lily Auction.

• farmerbell
    14 years ago

Violet Becomes you is one of my favorites. Lotodig, those are some fabulous looking daylilies. I need more purples!

• pnwjoy54
    14 years ago

My favorite dark purple is an oldie by Childs,
    JESSICA LILLIAN.
    {{gwi:688170}}
    Another favorite is LAURA HARWOOD (HARWOOD BG 1997)
    {{gwi:688171}}
    Not as dark, but another I really love is ROYAL VESTMENTS (Mahieu 2003)
    {{gwi:688172}}

• random_harvest
    14 years ago

It's hard to beat Bela Lugosi.

{{gwi:688173}}

• stpetegardengal
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks, Lotodig!! Beautiful - you have ALL these?! Nice!
    re the Lily Auction ...good advice, but too late... ;-)

And thank you too, Farmerbell, and Pnwjoy and Random harvest -- it's kind of late right now, but I will look these up tomorrow on the web -- so many gorgeous purples, it will be a lovely difficult decision. :-)

Thank you again!!!

• stpetegardengal