Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jlovely98

Selecting Daylilies

jlovely98
11 years ago

I would like to start hybridizing daylilies. Is it best to start with daylilies that are from recent introductions? Or, should I just pick ones that I like to start out with?

I'm undecided on which ones to purchase.

Thanks for any advice.

Comments (8)

• dementieva
    11 years ago

If you know the basics (like tets vs. dips), the rest is up to you. If you're doing it just for a fun hobby, pick plants you like that also do well in your area. Certain color combinations tend to be more successful for resulting in clearer colors (you can't go wrong with two daylilies of approximately the same color, for example).

If you're serious about making "advances" or making money on introductions, you'll need to research a bit more into what other hybridizers have done and some of the finer points of genetics.

I've been crossing daylilies for two years now and my first ones are just about to start blooming -- it's a really awesome feeling (kind of like being a kid when it's almost Christmas).

Have fun!

Nate

• timberohio
    11 years ago

Definately pick ones that intrigue you. Pay attention to the branching and bud count of the parents. If the parents have low bud count the babies most likely will also. You may get a beautiful flower but only 3 blooms. Disappointing when you have to toss a nice bloom because of preformance.

I had heard "Face of the father, feet of the mother." I'm finding this to be somewhat true. Than sometimes you just get who knows where that came from. lol.

Hybridizing is like Christmas everyday during bloom season. You can't wait to get out of bed and see what has popped open or is getting ready to open.

Have fun with it, and try not to over do it your first year or you will end up with way more seeds than you have room for. lol

Andrea

• jlovely98
    Original Author
    11 years ago