Return to the Daylily Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
nitrogen deficiency?

Posted by darobi2459 5 (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 16, 13 at 23:44

Hi daylily friends! Some of my seedlings arent looking so healthy recently :( Many have droped there bottom leaves, and are curling, and loosing there green or turning brown.

Im new at starting from seeds, so im guessing from my experience from mature plants here as it being a nitrogen deficiency? They have been fertilized with miracle grow jump start a few times diluted by half.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated :)

David

david_robinson10's seedlings album on Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: nitrogen deficiency?

Dear David,

This may seem like a silly question, but when my seedlings start to turn brown with the bottom leaves dying it's aphids. Check for those little devils - they can infest a tray of seedlings and kill quite a few before I notice them. If you have them I can suggest what's worked for me to get rid of them fast.

o

I havent seen any aphids, but that of course doesnt mean there not there. I have some nats. I have a fan blowing in the area too. A friend thought the humidity level was to low and check for that. How did you get rid of those aphids Thomas? Thanks :)

o

Just figured how to post multiple pics lol
 photo DSCN0021_zps6d4aa0f8.jpg

photo DSCN0020_zps2facc924.jpg

photo DSCN0023_zpscd81d83c.jpg

photo DSCN0026_zps5dbe7774.jpg

Thanks everyone, I hate being an annoyance newbie :)

o

Number of things COULD be the cause:
Over/ under fertilized. You said you fertilized twice with a weakened portion of mix. Is it 10-10-10 or what?
Gnats are in the soil and feasting on the roots.
Not enough sun light/ warm temp in relation to the amount of watering. Water from the bottom, not top.
Build up of salt from your water source.

Be sure your have no "mold" growing on the surface of the medium your growing your seedlings in.