Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
juliany_gw

Questions: Potting daylilies (first timer)

Julia WV (6b)
15 years ago

I'm planning to pot some of my new arrivals since the bed they will go into isn't ready yet.

I'd like to know what is the best method for potting these.

Pot sizes? 9", 12"?

Plant them the same as when you put in the ground with the little mound in the center?

Soil mixture that worked best for you?

Watering?

How much sun? At least 8 hours?

I know its alot of questions, but since I'm new to this and never potted a daylily I need some help.

Thanks!!

Julia

Comments (9)

• tweetypye
    15 years ago

Julia, I'm in a warmer zone than you, so my answers may not be what you're looking for but this is what I do.

1)The larger the pot the better.
    2)yes
    3)a good potting soil, Miracle Grow or Expert(Walmart brand) mixed half and half with pine fines. I don't know if you can get the pine fines where you live.
    4)Water in well when first planted, then only when the soil seems dry afterwards.
    5)When I've put mine in pots to hold, I try to only let them get morning sun and keep them in afternoon shade, but as I stated above, I'm in a much warmer zone than you.

Hopefully, someone from your zone will give you their opinions on this matter.
    Good luck,
    Jan

• Julia WV (6b)
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks Jan.
    I was thinking to use the garden soil that we got from a local nursery and then amend with some manure I got from Walmart. Do you think that would be okay?

Julia

• ladylovingdove
    15 years ago