Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
southdakotadaylily

Looking for bright colored daylilies

southdakotadaylily
16 years ago

Hello Everyone, I am new to this site. Wonderful site and great reading.

I am new to daylilies, but the bug has bitten, and I am in love.

I live in Brookings SD, zone 4.

I am looking for the brightest colored daylilies possible. (The opposite of pastel daylilies)

What is the brightest colored daylily for each color that is hardy in zone 4? (That you would recommend)

(I am looking for daylilies that in clumps will grab people's attention 50 or 100 feet away.)I am looking for a good one in each color:

Diploids:

White (yes I know)

Yellow

Pink -- Hot Pink

Orange -bright orange

Red

Blue (i.e. bold lavender)

Purple

Tetraploids:

White (yes I know)

Yellow

Pink -- Hot Pink

Orange -bright orange

Red

Blue (i.e. bold lavender)

Purple

Also, I am looking for any daylilies that will turn people's heads 50 feet away, and make them say "Wow, what is that?"

Or in your daylily garden, what is the first daylily that visitors are drawn to?

I appreciate your help.

Thanks in advance,

George

Comments (13)

• okbt
    16 years ago

George,here are a few suggestions,and look at the clumps link,there are many pics there.
    Dips
    purple-Indian Giver
    red-Stoplight
    white-Joan Senior
    yellow-Butterfly Ballet

Tets
    red-Red Volunteer
    white-Arctic Snow
    purple-Strutters Ball
    yellow-Golden Prize
    pink-Corryton Pink
    orange-Rocket City or Primal Scream

Look at pictures,pick what you like. If you have a question about them,we will help you out.You can look up the stats of your choices on Tinkers Database. click on online database and type in the name of the plant in the "cultivar" box.

Here is a link that might be useful: Tinkers Gardens

• loveofmylife680
    16 years ago

I have sparkling orange it is a really bright daylily. My husbands favorite one.
    Jill

• jkunkel
    16 years ago