Return to the Daylily Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Surprise!!

Posted by sherrygirl none5 (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 13, 14 at 10:14

I have been gardening with daylilies for over twenty years and have been happy with what I found locally. After a few days reading and looking at pictures on this forum and checking out suggested place to purchase, BOY have i been missing out!! Stellas are one thing but removing some of my other "babies" will take some serious thinking on my part. Wish I had more room for a few exotic newbies. Had no idea a new variety could go for $250. Am really enjoying the whole thing. Included a picture of my new Desperado, thats my "exotic".

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Surprise!!

Hello there, Sherry. You don't have to go for the pricey ones to have some beauties. Look at Marietta Gardens, CT Daylilies, Blueridge Daylilies, Maryotts. Paul Owens Slightly Different Nursery also has general cultivars that are reasonable. They all have some very expensive intros, but look at the general cultivars, and you will find reasonable prices too. And they all send nice bonus plants.
The Lily Auction has a section for $7 and under. Some of the ones there were very pricy at one time, and now are not since they aren't new, but they are just as pretty as ever. Don't give up, you can expand without spending a fortune.

kay

o

Sherry
I just looked on the auction, and Selman of Blueridge has a lot of "instant buy" in the 7-20 category. If you want to take a look at them, he has always been generous with bonus plants. And he is not a southern grower, so his should do okay for you.
kay

o