Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jjc5005

How to store seeds

jjc5005
15 years ago

I'm very new to this and did do a search, but didn't find an answer to this. I'm trying to find out how long I can store my daylily seeds before planting them? I know they need to be dried, then refrigerated, but if I don't want to plant all of them this February inside, how can I store the rest until spring when I can start them outside? Should they be stored in the refrigerator or freezer? Should they be in envelopes and dry? The reason I ask is that I ended up with far too many to start indoors. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! John

Comments (10)

• southdakotadaylily
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

After pulling seeds out of pod, let them air dry for 3 days to prevent mold (too long and they will dry out too much).

Label ziplock bags for each cross, and put seeds in the ziplock bags.

Put seeds in fridge - Not freezer- you dont want them to freeze - for a minum of 4 weeks - they need the cold cycle to simulate winter in order to germinate. I put my seed ziplock bags in a crisper in my fridge.

Leave in fridge until you are ready to germinate them. I leave mine in the fridge from September until January.

I don't want to mess with seeds over the Christmas holiday season - we travel too much.

As long as they are sealed in ziplocks they will last for months (perhaps years).

When you are ready, pull them out and germinate them.

Hope this helps,

George

• okbt
    15 years ago

I have heard they will be viable for several years as long as stored in the fridge.I planted a few after 2 yrs and they germinated and are growing now.

George gave you great info.

• jjc5005
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks very much southdakotadaylily and okbt. I'll give it a try! Best wishes. John

• bambi_too
    15 years ago