Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alameda_gw

Question About Soaking in Hydrogen Peroxide and Water

This is my first time to try this method - I understand it works well. I am using the 6 T to 1/2 gallon of water mix. I have read that you soak for 24 hours, or soak until germination, changing water daily, soak for 5 days, changing water daily. I am confused.....which works best? I am putting a large group of seeds to soak today and not sure how long to leave them. Suggestions??

Thanks! Would also appreciate any tips on seed starting and germination.....

Judith

Comments (7)

• Julia WV (6b)
    13 years ago

Judith:
    I have done the peroxide mix to germinate the seeds and been very successful with most seeds. I replace my mix every 3 days and leave the seeds in the mix till they germinate (show the radicle) or 2 weeks. Most germinate within a few days to a week max. If they don't germinate in 2 weeks, I then dry them off and put them back in the refrig for a couple more weeks and then try the presoak again. 99.9% of the time they germinate within a couple of days.
    Sometimes it is just a bad seed and won't germinate.

I have all my seeds in the refrig for a minimum of 4 months before I start any of them in January/February.

Everyone has their preferred method as I'm sure you've read when doing a search on this forum. Some folks never soak and just plant the seeds. I don't want to waste space with ones that may not germinate so I soak first till the radicle appears and then plant. At least I have a higher percentage continue to grow once they are planted in the promix.

Good luck with your seeds. It is so much fun to do them.

Julia

• alameda/zone 8/East Texas
    Original Author
    13 years ago