Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linnea56chgo5b

What are these tracks inside daylily leaves?

I know it is some kind of insect. I do have leaf miners on my columbines, but those don't seem to do anything really bad. (the leaf miners are in one bed, about 8 feet away from where this DL has been kept).

I thought I remember reading about some especially bad DL pest that made tracks like these. This is in a new plant, not yet in the garden. It did not have these when I bought it, but it's been sitting around the yard for a month or more waiting for me to get to it. As I was getting ready to plant it just now, I saw them. I do not want to contaminate my other DLs. Thanks for your advice.

Comments (9)

• mizellie
    11 years ago

I am no expert but they look like snail tracks to me...Ellie

• floota
    11 years ago

Yes, there is a daylily leaf miner and that is what you are seeing. I have posted the link from the AHS website dictionary below. Hope this helps!

I've seen this in many parts of the country and had it here this year. It is not fatal but unsightly on foliage. I plan to spray earlier next year, as the sprays I used this year were not very effective.

Here is a link that might be useful: Daylily Dictionary - leaf miner

• newyorkrita
    11 years ago

I have had that happen sometimes on a leaf or two. Never enough for it to be any big deal. I guess you could cut off and bag those leaves.

• linnea56 (zone 5b Chicago)
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for the links. Very informative. It looks like all the leaves are affected. Being a new plant, there were only 2 fans to begin with, though it is in a gallon pot and has a large root system. I actually took it out of the pot, preparing to plant it, when I saw the tracks. So I have seen the roots and they look great: abundant.