Return to the Daylily Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
seed pod on day lily

Posted by brer Zone 7 (My Page) on
Thu, Aug 2, 12 at 22:52

I am new to day lilies. I have searched this site, but all questions dealing with the seed pods seem to start in the middle. I don't know ANYTHING>

I planted day lilies from a friend last fall. This year all bloomed beautifully, but some had no pods and a few had big pods.

What do I do with these? Why don't all of them have pods?
I take it from what I've read that I let the pods mature and then collect the seeds and refrigerate them for 3 weeks and then soak them in water before planting.

Are these always hybreds? Are they babies from the parent.
Where can I read more about this?
Thanks so much!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: seed pod on day lily

Seed pods only form when the daylily was pollinated, in this case, if you only have one daylily type, its most likely pollinated with itself, via mother nature.

The seedlings from it will most likely look like the daylily you grow, sometimes with diffrent hues , the genectics comes from the parents, in this case being a self cross, its probably not going to stray to far, but they could be shorter, taller, more vigorous , less, or complete dogs.

You can do a google search for daylily hybridizing if you want.

You need to allow the pods to mature as far as possible, when they are ready they will split open, you can use mesh cloth, nylon or anything of that nature to collect the seeds.

If you are planting seeds, the seedlings are called hybrids, they are not the mother plant. Hence you could name them if you really wanted to.

Silverkelt

o

And if you are not interested in taking care of a bunch of unknown baby plants, you can always break the pods off the plant and throw them out. A daylily will have more energy for growing and flowering if you break off any pods when they begin to form.