Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
booberry85

Oldies but Goodies

booberry85
10 years ago

I'm still relatively new to daylilies. This was my second summer learning about daylilies and of course, acquiring! It seems like there is so much emphasis on the newest, latest, greatest, that a lot of the older varieties get tossed aside like yesterday's news. I think quite a few of the older varieties are just as lovely as the newer varieties and for a fraction of the price. For instance, I bought All Fired UP at a big box store earlier this season. It put on a lovely show! I was thrilled with it.

So I guess this thread has a two fold purpose. First of all, is it so important to you to have the newest, latest and greatest or do you just pick the ones that strike your fancy?

Secondly, what are some of the older varieties that you absolutely love and would never get rid of?

Comments (34)

• organic_kitten
    10 years ago

The ones that "strike my fancy" are the ones I buy. Sometimes they are fairly new, sometimes I go on a hunt for an older one I want, but the ones I keep are the ones that continue to please me. I like eyes, bright colors, reds, oranges and purples. Sometimes, I buy one because the name amuses me (My Chihuahua Bites) Sometimes I see one on a post and just love it, and get it. I have two or three of the very first ones I bought many years ago (Brave World and Rose Fever.) My tastes have changed during the last five years I have been actively buying daylilies. the two I have coming from Maryotts are both unusual forms/spiders; Purple Tarantula and Shelby.

Another thing, I have found that certain hybridizers plants do exceptionally well here, and I will look at other intros from those growers. Emmerich, Trimmer, Lambertson...you get the point.

And, the intros from those that do well are often the ones that I think I have to have.

Have fun. It is an addiction, you know. Welcome to it.
    kay

• organic_kitten
    10 years ago