Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mike_z6

Soil, Raised Beds or Pots

mike_z6
16 years ago

I have been crossing daylilies for 4 years now and have 9 in ground beds planted with selections made from the seedlings. I am just at the point of final selection for keepers which will be divided next year to grow on and multiply. As you know this has required a lot of labor and time to keep every thing organized. My question to all of you who have a lot more years doing this than me is, what is the best (easiest and orderly) way to plant and multiply daylilies. Right now all my plants are in prepared beds in the ground. I am considering changing methods to either 'raised beds' or potted plants.

Thanks for your advice!

Mike

Comments (4)

• jackarias
    16 years ago

In the ground is far easier than any other method. Pots don't always drain well, or wet well. It is common for the water to run down the sides of pots and wash the dirt away from the roots. If some soil is heavy and some soil is light the pots do not absorbe water at the same rate and you can have them too dry and too wet at the same time.

In the ground the roots can go deep but in pots they can easily get root bound.

You need to go to daylily Mecca (Orlando, FL) in May and see how Stamile, Trimmer, Hansen, Kinnebrew (raised beds in pots), and Frank Smith do it. (Also Abajian, Lambertson, and Rielly are in the same area.) You can ask the pros what they have tried and what works and why they do it the way they do.

I asked Jan Joiner how she plants, and she uses a seed wheel that spaces the seeds 4" apart and just walks down the row and plants all of her seeds.