Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ejr2005

Designing Daylily Beds

ejr2005
10 years ago

I'm pretty new to daylilies but suddenly got the bug - mainly from the gorgeous pictures posted here. Also because I have some bare areas (long story) and most of my neighbors have cut down their trees so I suddenly have more light.

Against advice here, I went ahead and ordered a fairly large number of daylilies that should be arriving any day now. Most are from Gilbert Wild - very inexpensive. I chose a lot of the "oldies but goodies" mentioned here. Some are from Blueridge. I also ordered several from Maryotts but they are already planted.

I have a fairly long bed - about 20' long which varies between 2' and 6' wide. I was thinking or starting with more peach, pink, yellow and white on the right. Then pinks and reds in the middle. Finally more orange and purples on the end. The orange/purple end is nearest the house and I already have that theme close to the house. I also tried to separate the more complex flowers (eyes, edges, etc.) with more simple ones.

Just wondering how you try to design your beds, and what you've found works and what doesn't.

Comments (9)

• alameda/zone 8/East Texas
    10 years ago

I arrange my daylilies two different ways - I have some raised beds with just daylilies in them [these were to be for seedings, but I filled them up with things I "had" to have off the Lily Auction.....] I don't have them in any kind of order except a few, like from Gayle Story, are in the same area. They all look great together as the lilies don't all bloom at the same time.