Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tny78

Why are there spices in with my daylily seeds?

TNY78
10 years ago

I'm a daylily seed novice, but I have rec'd seeds from about 4 different people...and they've all arrived as seeds in a tiny zip-loc. Today, my seeds arrived in the usual tiny zip-loc, but there was also some kind of kitchen spice (maybe nutmeg?)among other things in with the seeds.What is the purpose for the spices? Also, when I go to germinate the seeds, do I leave the spices in the baggie or remove them? These might be silly questions, but I really just don't know LOL. The only thing I can think of is maybe its to absorb moisture...there was no napkin or papertowel in the bag...

Thanks,
Tammy

Here's what they look like:

Comments (8)

• dementieva
    10 years ago

Yeah, my first thought is also that they put it in as a desiccant.

Nate

• Julia WV (6b)
    10 years ago

Tammy: I once received seeds like that and I was told it was cinnamon to absorb moisture.
    I typically when harvesting, drying and packaging seeds will put a piece of paper towel in the baggie. No cinnamon.

Julia

• marricgardens
    10 years ago

Cinnamon, and some other herbs, are also a fungicide. The oil of nutmeg and mace has been used for its antimicrobial properties. They were probably put in the bag for that reason. Marg

• roxanna
    10 years ago

when i started seeds this past spring (indoors) i sprinkled some ground cinnamon on top of the medium to prevent damping-off. it worked 100%!!! hurrah!

• TNY78
    Original Author
    10 years ago

ok then.....that's really interesting! I just seemed like a very expensive way to control excess moisture. I guess after I germinate them, and put them in their little growpots, I'll just sprinkle it on the top. The envelope smelled wonderful when I opened it LOL. I'm defnitley learning some new tricks!

Tammy

• swontgirl_z5a
    10 years ago