Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deangreen

beginner here with seedlings...

deangreen
16 years ago

>
pics of a few seedlings starting on the back porch.. I'm reaady for the two year long haul, ahh yeah!!!

also a pic of the yucca plant about to bloom again...just sharing pics.........

Comments (10)

• okbt
    16 years ago

You've jumped right in! The way I understand it,they bloom sooner if left clumped together.Maybe someone with more experience will clarify that for both of us. I separated all of my seedlings I planted last fall and none have bloomed yet.A few have increased though.

Betsy

• fantasylilies
    16 years ago

Hi deangreen and Betsy! Chris in CA here, and here is a picture of my seedlings also!! I would LOVE to get advise as to whether to separate the seedlilngs, or leave them 'clumped' together either in pots or in the garden??

deangreen-how are you doing on keeping them straight?? (whew)

• katlynn719
    16 years ago

I can tell you that my seedlings had big root systems in 10 months...at least 1 foot wide, some much more. I would seperate them so they will have room to grow. Also, if one seedling gets rust, it will spread rapidly if they are close together. Not trying to jinx you...just speaking from my own experience.
    Kathy

• fantasylilies
    16 years ago

Hi Kathy - thanks! Yes, I think I will try to seperate them as much as my small yard will allow! I'm presently asking everyone about rust and trying to learn..........!

Chris in CA

• jackarias
    16 years ago

Chris. My advice is to put all of the seeds of one cross into a one gal. pot whether there is one seed or 100 seeds. When they sprout and have roots about 2" long separate them out and plant them in a row in the ground. That way you are only planting the seeds that have sprouted. You will get better germination by planting them all together at least it worked well for me and my mentor Robbie has used this method for years.

• fantasylilies
    16 years ago