Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lemonthyme5

Purchasing new DL's

lemonthyme5
9 years ago

Oh I've been tracking the new 2015 introductions! I am very new to daylilies and live in Illinois (zone 5). I've read that it is best to purchase from someone in your zone or colder. I would hate to purchase DL's and not have them make it through our cold winters. Any suggestions? TIA

Comments (17)

• sherrygirl zone5 N il
    9 years ago

Lemonthyme, i am in zone 5 about 50 miles west of Chicago. Some of the experts here will tell you it doesnt matter. However, I wont buy anything grown above zone 6. I dont have to worry about rust from northern growers. I have purchased from Blue Ridge daylilies ( mountains of n. carolina) and Oak Hill daylilies (central illinois). They sell big healthy plants, great customer service. They both sell on the Lily Auction also, Oak Hill sells seasonally on the Lily Auction, her name there is "bnich". I have also made a few purchases on the Lily Auction from growers in Michigan and Ohio. If you haven't looked at the auction give it a try. The growers location is always on each listing, it works similar to Ebay. I am sure you will get input from other members, just letting you know what I do!

Sherry

• marricgardens
    9 years ago

Hi. I'm in Canada zone 5a. Thought I'd just let you know what I do. I have some of everything, dormants, semi evergreens and even evergreens. Some evergreens are hardier than others so I check with the local growers to see what evergreens they consider hardy for them. If I see one on a site I like, I check the hardiness and see if one of my suppliers has it. If you email and ask them how hardy the plant is for them, they will tell you. I saw one of Stamiles I liked and wanted but wasn't sure about it so I emailed and they told me they did not recommend it for zones colder than where they were. Mostly I buy Canadian because then I know what is hardy in this climate. Marg

• Ed
    9 years ago