Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
edward_kimball_gw

Not buying many for next spring

Edward_Kimball
11 years ago

I have been complaining that my garden is full for a few years now but I manage to shoehorn 10-12 more in each year. This year I have ordered one daylily and I am getting one daylily from my mother-in law. The two daylilies are Heir to the Throne (Korth) and Lemon Curls (Waldrop). I wonder how long I can hold out.

Edward

Comments (16)

• Julia WV (6b)
    11 years ago

I keep saying the same thing but in the end, I add more.

Seedlings are taking over my extra bed space so in order to get more next year, I have to eliminate a couple next year. It is also a good time to evaluate those that are better off in a warmer climate.

• Waitforspring
    11 years ago

So far I haven't bought any for next year. I'm in the same situation as Julia. Something has to go before I can add any. I also have seedlings taking up more and more room. Even my temporary bed is full. I keep seeing things I have to have, but I don't have anywhere to put them.
    Val

• Maryl (Okla. Zone 7a)
    11 years ago

I've only got two coming next spring, but only because they are coming from Earlybird, will be rust free when they arrive, and I didn't want to miss out on these two varieties. After having rust for the first time this year, I'm going to hold off and see if the winter is cold enough to kill off the rust on the few rusters that I am keeping over (the rest got pitched). That's the plan anyway. If it doesn't work out that way, then the rusters will be trashed next year and I'll stay pat for awhile until I get back to a rust free garden. So far our temperatures haven't gotten consistently cold enough for many of the daylilies to even go dormant yet. Still way too much green......Maryl

• bambi_too
    11 years ago