Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vegangirl_gw

north side, wet in winter, sun in summer

vegangirl
17 years ago

I'm looking for ideas for the north side of my house. It faces a section of a circle driveway (or it will when the driveway is put in!)

The problem is that this side of the house is cold and stays moist or frozen all winter but in summer it gets full sun for a few hours every day. I'm afraid the typical shade plants won't like the hot evening sun. I have a Pieris "Valley Rose", a Hosta "Night Before Christmas" and an Amsonia there so far. Just planted them last summer and I'm not sure they will be happy. The pieris doesn't look too happy right now. The two perennials haven't shown any sign of growth so far either.

This is the side where the dryer and water heater vents come out too but the plants are not close to them.

Any ideas will be so appreciated!

VG

Comments (7)

• mulberryin
    16 years ago

I am no expert, however, I had a great deal of difficulty growing plants on the north side of my home for years...yews tolerate almost everything and survived there as did some of my holly and euonymus.

• ziggy___
    16 years ago

Since it gets some sun, I assume it is not true north, but at an angle to it. Any plant hardy in your zone should be fine in winter when it is dormant. Go by the conditions during the growing season.

Ziggy

• vegangirl
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Mulberryin, thanks for the suggestions. I like the dwarf hollies.

Ziggy, I think it is pretty much true north, within a couple of degrees of magnetic north. The midsummer sun goes directly over the house and shines on the north side for a several hours.

The hosta and amsonia are showing growth now :-)

• giboosi_alttara
    16 years ago

Why not hydrangeas or viburnums?

• vegangirl
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Good idea! I like them both. Thank you for the suggestion.

• bradarmi
    16 years ago