Return to the Plants for Difficult Places Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
A Deer Question.

Posted by NutCracker20 Upper Michigan (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 19, 04 at 17:48

Hi, This may seem like a real dumb question but can you tell me if the deer like a certain plant or flower? the reason I am asking I am new at this garden stuff and I just planted Hydranga's, Peonies, and a black eye Susan can you tell me if they like these kinda of plants and flowers? Or do they just eat about everthing? We have alot of deer out where we live . If so what can I do about it to keep them away from my flowers? I do have 2 large dogs but they sleep inside at night cause they are big chickens LOL Thanks for all your help.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: A Deer Question.

Your peonies should be okay--deer rarely bother them
I know that hydrangeas can be considered deer food in some areas
but I'm not sure about the black eyed susans

and if you go here:
http://faq.gardenweb.com/faq/lists/midatl/2002083026012897.html
you will get more information

o

Here in Wisconsin the deer don't touch my peonies, but they do eat my hydangeas and black eyes susans, especially in the spring. I've noticed that if I'm consistant with a spray, by the time they are ready to bloom the deer leave then alone. Another good plant that is deer resistant is Monarda (bee balm).

o

Here in Illinois they eat the following from my garden
My pear tree- breakfast,
Hosta- evening snack,
day lillie- just when I think tomorrow- the flower will open- only to come out tomorrow & the flower has been bitten off!!
Hibiscus-dinner
swiss chard in my pots - an appetizer

o

• Posted by sauna 6 nw arkansas (My Page) on
    Mon, Jul 5, 04 at 1:30

peonies are the only safe ones of the three in my area

o