Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbieroselover

plants to go under a very shady deck

newbieroselover
19 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this particular forum but I'm delighted to find you! I could use your help. We have a 12-foot-wide deck that wraps around 2 sides of our house, with north/northeast/northwest exposures. The soil underneath gets dim indirect light at best. I'm tired of looking at bare dirt and have starting planting ferns there, but wonder if you have suggestions of any other perennials I could add?

Thanks!

Comments (13)

• hornedone
    19 years ago

hostas

• newbieroselover
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Believe it or not, hornedone, I tried hostas but they started to die, so I moved them. They were showing classic signs of being too wet. So I need plant(s) that like wettish feet as well as very heavy shade.

• Judy_B_ON
    19 years ago

If you are trying to plant under the deck, there will not be enough light to grow anything, You might be able to create planting beds adjacent to the deck and grow taller shade plants like hosta and fern to screen the view under.

Otherwise, cover the dirt with peagravel or mulch so you have something attractive to look at. Or hide the dirt view with vertical lattice between the ground and deck floor bottom.

• ginger_nh
    19 years ago

I agree with Judy. Plants look odd under decks, IMO. I have so many gardening clients who want to have plantings in this inhospitable situation. I try to disuade them and encourge weedcloth and gravel mulch--clean, low-maintenance. The organic mulches sooner or later decompose into compost; weeds love it. When people insist, I have found that mints,lamiums, and nummularia will work to a degree.

• newbieroselover
    Original Author
    19 years ago