Return to the Dried & Pressed Flowers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Best sealant for pressed flower greeting cards

Posted by yukisammy Z-6 PA (My Page) on
Wed, May 12, 04 at 14:24

I am very new to pressed flowers. Currently I just use the old-fashioned "between telephone books" style of pressing. I would like to use the pressed flowers on my greeting cards. What is the best sealant to use so that the flowers don't disintegrate in the mail?

I tried laminating, and found it looked too unnatural. I also tried spraying with an acrylic sealer, but the acrylic spray caused the petals of the pansies to wrinkle. Also, the smell was somewhat offensive.

Can anyone make a recommendation for sealers?
Thanks in advance...

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Best sealant for pressed flower greeting cards

Hi,

I use acrylic spray. The trick is to hold the can 18 or so inches away... and give it just the faintest mist. Wait till it dries (it's only a minute or two) and do that again. It takes about three or four light misty sprays and then a THOROUGH drying time before you put a reasonable coat of the acrylic on the card. And by reasonable I mean a very light coat. After two light coats your flowers should be sealed well enough to add some final coats that will protect them. It's still not fool proof... notice when you buy those cards, they're always in clear plastic envelopes to protect them.

It sounds as if your flowers have gotten wet so they've wrinkled. It's a hassle to do several misty sprays but it keeps the petals dry.

By the way, you can quick dry flowers by laying them between layers of paper towels and ironing them. I've found that they don't lose as much color because the drying time is so fast.

The acrylic odor dissipates if you leave the cards out for a few days. I give mine a quick misty spray of Amarige. It's a very soft scent. You can use essential oils or perfume. Just use it extremely sparingly.

o