Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
yukisammy

Best sealant for pressed flower greeting cards

yukisammy
19 years ago

I am very new to pressed flowers. Currently I just use the old-fashioned "between telephone books" style of pressing. I would like to use the pressed flowers on my greeting cards. What is the best sealant to use so that the flowers don't disintegrate in the mail?

I tried laminating, and found it looked too unnatural. I also tried spraying with an acrylic sealer, but the acrylic spray caused the petals of the pansies to wrinkle. Also, the smell was somewhat offensive.

Can anyone make a recommendation for sealers?

Thanks in advance...

Comments (12)

• yukisammy
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks for the tips. I'll try the several-coats-of-light-misting technique that you describe. I guess I'm just a little too impatient. :) I thought a thorough first coat with acrylic spray would do the trick.

As to your ironing method. Sounds like a great suggestion. Are you ironing just-picked flowers, or are you ironing flowers that have been pressed, but may be still a little damp? I'd like to make a bunch of cards soon, and the flowers aren't quite ready yet (the flowers are pressed, but not quite dry), so I'm thinking of applying your ironing technique to speed the drying.

Thanks again.

• CandyWA
    19 years ago

Hi,

I iron fresh flowers. I just tried it with some larger flowers... the size and thickness of pansies... and they turned out great. The trick is to not "cook" them. I use the middle setting on my iron. Then I just press them for 2 seconds... let 'em cool... press again... let 'em cool. I do that until they're dry.

• Luvherbz
    19 years ago

Wow - ironing flowers - never thought of that! Thanx for the tip. I've been "pressing" by flowers for many years and never gave ironing them a thought!

LUVHERBZ!

• sheryl_ontario
    19 years ago

Pat, very nice site! I couldn't find anywhere to request that information.

• Wrapsody