Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cosmos6ma

Does anyone use the microwave drying devices ?

cosmos6MA
21 years ago

Do stores like Walmart carry them ? How do they compare to regular drying/pressing ? Any websites you guys know about ?

Thanks, Susan

Comments (18)

• judiz
    21 years ago

I purchased my terra cotta microwave flower press from Lee Valley. The only thing I don't like is that it's small, only about 8 inches square, if that. But other than that, it's fine. I'm not familiar with the one that Wal-mart carries, but I assume they're all similar.

• Jemy
    21 years ago

I am new to pressing flowers, ferns, etc. but searching here and there on the web, I experimented on my own by using two pieces of cardboard. I wanted to dry some larger ferns in the microwave and if you are careful in your timing, you can end up with some beautiful pressed flowers without purchasing a thing!

Two pieces of cardboard, size being your own preference; tissue paper (I have been grabbing my computer paper)and several thick rubberbands. And of course, your microwave!

I usually dry everything at 3 minutes on the defrost cycle. Some pieces might not need quite as much time.

Try it! I had considered buying a microwave flower press also but after using cardboard and rubber bands, I am not going to waste my money. This works great for the flowers I have dried in experimentation and although I have a traditional flower press, I like the colors that are retained by pressing in a microwave.

• cosmos6MA
    Original Author
    21 years ago

jemy,thanks ! I will try that.

• newfiepaws
    21 years ago

Hi Jemy,
    I've been thinking about ordering the Microfleuer microwave press, but I don't really want to spend the $$ either. I like your method!

When you press your flowers in the microwave, is it OK to use just regular rubber bands? Do they melt or burn after a certain number of minutes?

Thanks.
    Sharon

• Ichabod_Jane
    21 years ago