Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jemy_gw

Help With Storing Pressed Flowers

Jemy
21 years ago

Hello everyone! I just love the Garden Web forums!

I am fairly new at pressing flowers and I could use some help. I would like to know what you use to store your flowers, ferns, etc. in when they are pressed.

I want to press as much as I am able to and be able to go back to them later and craft. In the meantime, I need your creative input for storage.

Comments (9)

• judiz
    21 years ago

I use an airtight plastic shoe box. Over the long term, the chemicals in the plastics might affect the flowers, but I don't dry a huge quantity and I use them within a year.

• homenovice
    21 years ago

My dad is a radio broadcaster and used to have tape reel boxes that are about 8x8 and only about 1/2" thick. I sorted my flowers by color and kept my boxes in a drawer. I've also used clean clear plastic take-out or left-over containers. Anything shallow with a lid can be used. Sometimes, I made little paper trays to safeguard the really little flowers within the boxes.

• cindip
    21 years ago

I have heard of people using cd cases for the different kinds of flowers. Some people store them in the phone book too. I use the little envelopes that are meant for stamp collecting. I can't remember the name of them. I also keep some on paper stacked up on top of each other sandwiched between two pieces of thick cardboard.

Cindi

• sparrow
    21 years ago

I have used a clean sheet of 8x11 paper, folded it in thirds, then folded that in thirds. Unfold and you will have one center section, Put your flowers in this, fold back up, label and then put under a weight or in a book. You can also file them like this in shoeboxes and place in a dark dry spot. They stay flat and are easy to get to this way.

• sonshine_hvc_rr_com
    21 years ago