Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shirley1md

Books on Dried & Pressed Flowers

shirley1md
21 years ago

I am relatively new to drying and pressing flowers. I grow a large variety of perennials, shrubs, roses, and herbs in my garden, but have never dried or pressed the flowers. I would like to learn more about this wonderful tradition of saving and preserving treasured flowers, roses, berries, leaves, etc. Can anyone recommend a good book that you have enjoyed using that covers drying & pressing a wide assortment of plant material?

Your help is greatly appreciated!

Comments (10)

• josie_il_z5
    21 years ago

Betty Wiita's "Dried Flowers for all Seasons" is a very informative book for those getting started in these areas as it covers both drying & pressing. Also "The Complete Book of Everlastings" by Mark & Terry Silber is very good.

For pressing only, I like Penny Black's "Complete Book of Pressed Flowers"

I must warn you -- Growing, drying & pressing becomes addictive and your life may never be the same! Good luck!

• Josh
    21 years ago

Most of my books are older, but some I haven't seen surpassed in good solid information by the newer full-color oversized books, so I'll list my favorites. Perhaps someone might like to seek one on the used-book sites.

Penny Black's books are great! I have "A Passion for Flowers", "Dried Flowers", "Book of Cards & Collages" and "Scented Flowers". The first listed is a great read as well as inspiration toward imaginative use of all sorts of botanical treasure. Very well illustrated.

My best illustrated (mostly in b/w drawings) and most wide-ranging book is by Maureen Foster, entitled "The Flower Arranger's Encyclopedia of Preserving and Drying". She shows a few finished arrangements but it's primarily a fine resource for how to prepare the material.