Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ichabod_jane

Should we introduce ourselves?

Ichabod_Jane
21 years ago

Hi, I'm Jane from the prairie plains of Kansas. Actually, I live in town and must drive a while to see the prairie, but I always try to stop in and see Auntie Em and Dorothy along the way :-)

As for drying flowers, I'm a complete rookie. I have some experience with pressing flowers--mostly roses--but I'd like to learn a lot more. OK...now it's your turn!

Comments (11)

• cindip
    21 years ago

I am Cindi and I live in the piedmont region of NC. It is beautiful here (when we have rain- we are in a drought)
    Growing flowers is my passion.
    I have only been pressing flowers since December, but have learned a lot, but I still have lots to learn. I am not pressing as many flowers as I had hoped to press this summer, have been too busy working in the yard. There are so many talented press flower artists out there. I hope that one day I can be half as good as they are.

Cindi

• Josh
    21 years ago

Hi, I'm Jo...and a bit of a fanatic for plants. For years I've collected pods, cones, berries, seeds, flowers and foliage...any little bit of nature. (Stones and feathers and seashells, too). I display them in baskets which I also collect because they too are made with natural material, or in handthrown clay weedpots or vases.

I do a little with flat-pressed material in decoupage
    but I prefer a three-dimensional dried arrangement where the material retains its natural shape (for instance in a deep shadowbox).

The fun part is that some of your finds may be in a parking lot (a strange moss or tiny grass seedhead) or on a weedy roadside...the more you look the more you'll notice. Even a neglected vegetable patch...okra pods dry in the fall on the stalk, and leeks have a lovely allium-like blossom.

I'm so glad to find others interested...jo

• gardninlady
    21 years ago

Hi Gang!!