Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bjhk

Best Way to Dry/clean Honesty (money plant)

bjhk
21 years ago

They are drying ok inside my house, must have 50 stalks.

However the pod "shells" aren't falling off.

I have tried rubbing between my fingers, which does work,

but VERY tedious and there must be thousands of them

Also tried "shaking" with minimal results.

Suggestions /help appreciated.

Comments (6)

• neil_allen
    21 years ago

This is my first year with plants in the ground, no flowers or pods until next year, but here is the discouraging word from the Silbers' The Complete Book of Everlastings:

"The best time to pick is after frost. At that time, the pods dry up and the seed is scattered, leaving the thin membrane that is useful as an everlasting. However, if the season is moist, picking earlier, but well after seed is mature, may be the only alternative. But then the job of slipping the outer shells becomes tedious and time-consuming."

• janetsflowers
    21 years ago

The only way I found was to do it by hand,a few at a time, and they are very fragile, but lovely!

• junelynn
    21 years ago

The way you are doing it is the best, by hand. It DOES take a long time. Just pick a nice day and plan to spend a few hours. I remember buying a bunch YEARS AGO for the pricey cost of $9. After I grew my own, I knew why!!

I wet my fingers a bit and rub both sides to get the outer skins off from each side. Some are stubborn and you literally have to "sliver" them off -kinda get in between the outer and inner part - with your fingernail. If you shake it, you risk the chance of losing the whole flower.

It IS tedious, but well worth it! Good Luck!

• Trini_NY
    20 years ago