Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tina_2_gw

are iris are drought tolerant ?

tina_2
15 years ago

Hi - I have 50 plus / mixed iris plants to trade. The box is packed and very ''full''. They are either fragrant purple or creamy white or buttery yellow.

They are all trimmed, boxed and ready to go.

I ship, priority with delivery confirmation.

I, would expect the same courtesy.

Please, look at my ''wish list'', before you make an offer.

Please no seeds.

I can't send for postage or sasbe.

I, am looking for plants, but no more iris.

As, I have tooooo many.

Put ""Iris"" in the email , so that I will get it.

Thank you for your time. tina_2

Comments (6)

• greeness
    15 years ago

I'm no expert, but when our bearded iris bloom in the spring, they need to be watered at least a couple of times a week, more if the weather gets hot real fast. After they bloom, the foliage stays green until about now--I've noticed iit's dying back. We're located in the high desert west, where it is hotter than blazes in the summer, and then winter lasts about six months!

• wantonamara Z8 CenTex
    15 years ago

IU guess this brings up the issue that drought means differrent things to different people. The guy in Virginia is worried that his tulip trees are diying. They never could live where I live, even on a wet year. In Central Tx, Irises are drought tolerant but if they don't get there winter and spring rains they do not bloom, but they do not die either. Our drought tolerant wildflowers don't bloom without spring and fall rains, but they don't die. They react by staying dormant. Actually this last spring was the first year my irises did not bloom in 25 years. I do not water. I guess I am somewhere between the virginian and the high plans guy. I just got some iris from an abandoned homestead that have been alive for a long time. I wouldn't rate them as a cactus companion though.

• jordan_californicus
    15 years ago