Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stitches216

Antibacterial soap in graywater vs. soil microorganisms

stitches216
21 years ago

I am pretty sure this topic is unmentioned so far. If you use bathwater containing residue from antibacterial soap, will the same antibacterial action do more harm than good to beneficial soil bacteria?

Comments (13)

• rich_in_nfpa
    21 years ago

I'm not an expert but I have to believe that the antibacterial properties of the soap would be so diluted as to not be a threat to the beneficial soil bacteria. After all, there are many antibacterial agents in soil already. Many of the -mycin family of antibiotics were originally isolated from soil organisms.

• hollyk
    21 years ago

I've heard that, too. I've even heard that there isn't enough anti-bacterial "stuff" in the soap to actually make it beneficial to wash your hands with it. Not enough stuff in it, and we don't leave it on our hands long enough!

• lazy_gardens
    21 years ago

The typical soil microbes scoff at the so-called antibacterial ingredients in soap.

BTW - they are usually too weak to do any more for you than plain soap, so save your money.

• frostfreetemperate
    21 years ago

Those of you with eczema, try not using antibacterial soap for a month or two, bet it clears up.

• Meghane
    21 years ago

All antibacterial soap does is breed antibiotic-resistant bacteria. Wash your hands with plain soap and water for 20 seconds and you won't have a problem. I even have iguanas that I handle often and don't use antibacterial soap, and I've never contracted salmonella or any other dread disease.

BTW, epidemiologists hate grey water because it can spread bacteria into the groundwater that may not be able to handle it.

• Barb9491
    21 years ago

You actually need to wash for 15 minutes, and then rinse for about five to get your hands and forearms sterile. Anti-bact soaps are a rip off.

• stitches216
    Original Author
    21 years ago