Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marklee_gw

Edible Landscaping resource

marklee
12 years ago

I am creating an on-line database related to the 100+ edible plants I currently grow in Seattle. Check it out here:

http://edible.wikidot.com

I have been working on this website for a few months. It contains original photos, growing and harvesting notes, and recipes. I also have a private forum on this site, but I don't see a need for that now as long as this GardenWeb forum is active.

I am finding it useful already for tracking my collection. I am in a local fruit growing club, and I can use my smartphone to share information with other members where ever we are meeting. It is also helping me to archive planting notes that previously were scattered on scraps of paper around my house. Another long range plan is to publish an edible landscaping book based on my own experience and how I use the harvest in my kitchen.

Comments are welcomed. I'm just getting started on this, but it is at a point where I want to start sharing it. Are there any other websites that are similar?

Enjoy.

-Mark Lee, Seattle

Comments (11)

• marklee
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I forgot to list the title of the database. It is called My Edible Landscape.
    -Mark

Here is a link that might be useful: My Edible Landscape

• wbonesteel
    12 years ago

Warning: Whining ahead:

Why are few people interested in the elements of design of edible landscapes?

There doesn't seem to be an 'edible landscaping' forum, here. Garden Web is a great forum, but I can't quite find a good 'home' on this forum. There's "edible", there's "design", and there's a regional forum that is of interest to me...but they don't 'get it' - not really.

In the design forum, they're talking about beautiful curves and wire 'sculpture' fish, but they don't talk about edible landscaping designs.

The edible forum - here - they're not talking about design.