Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thorspippi_z_9b

How weather plants

thorspippi
19 years ago

I'm a newbie (purple-thumbed) gardener. Last year's crop was a total bust (well, I'm cautiously optimistic about my elephant garlic). This year, I'm concentrating on perennials herbs instead of annual veggies (mostly) and have bought an automated drip system which I hope will help things.

The summers here are extremely hot. Very frequently over 100C. Over 90C almost daily.

I just ran across a blurb that said broccoli was a cool-weather crop. oh for heaven's sakes. And I just started some broccoli seeds.

I found the reference on Sacramento Gardening but the list is purely annual veggies. Not perennial herbs.

How on earth can I tell that a plant is not going to do well in my summer climate?? The seed packages rarely say so! And the zone thing doesn't tell me either.

Comments (6)

• ksrogers
    19 years ago

In your zone 9, you could have grown broccoli in winter and still get a decent crop. Most coles are difficult in very hot weather. I think that French tarragon would grow well there as would bay leaf, oregano, mint, rosemary, and even chervil, and marjoram. There aren't too many herbs that are perennials, so you need to keep digging..

• thorspippi
    Original Author
    19 years ago

These are what I have in mind this year. Do you know offhand if any of these will be in trouble this summer?

Perennials:
    thyme, german/english
    chamaemelum nobile (roman chamomile)
    allium schoenoprasum (chives)
    taraxacum officinale (dandelion) (in sunken 5 gal bucket)
    oregano, greek
    allium schoenoprasum (garlic chives)
    tanacetum parthenium (feverfew)
    salvia officinalis (sage)
    red clover (Trifolium pratense)
    hyssop, blue (Hyssopus officinalis)
    savory, winter (satureja montana)
    ocimum basilicum (genovese basil)
    lemon balm (melissa officinalis)
    mint, peppermint (in sunken 5 gal bucket)
    mint, spearmint (in sunken 5 gal bucket)