Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pedrovangogh

Drought tolerant edibles

PedroVanGogh
12 years ago

Hey everybody, I'm new to Gardenweb and I'm beginning my first job and I want to make this 60 ft x 12 ft hill (at a 3:1 slope) as drought tolerant as possible while still using as many edible or medicinal species as possible. Mexican Elderberries, Yuccas, Joshua Trees are the natives around here... Lots of Manzanita and Sagebrush, even white sage. Winters can get down to about 20 as the extreme... average low about 25... Summers can get 110. Rain can range anywhere from 2" to 16".

I want to create a rich organic sponge in the soil with plenty of mulch to hold water, and eventually want to make the hill free of any irrigation. I'm either going to do swales or terraces on the hill in order to hold water and nutrients...

So I have several questions... How long would most of the drought tolerant desert species need to be irrigated until they are established enough to go it alone, keeping in mind I am trying to establish the sponge effect? Does anyone have any good drought tolerant edibles that would fit this scenario? Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Comments (10)

• yukkuri_kame
    12 years ago

Goji (lycium barbarum) is drought tolerant, hardy and very highly revered in chinese medicine. Leaves & berries. The plants are attractive as well. There is a variety that grows wild in arizona. I've got some starts from goji berries bought at the health food store.

Pomegranate is another dryland survivor, with a bit of an ornamental look, though they will fruit better with a little extra water. Easy to propagate from cuttings.

• limhyl
    12 years ago

Can't help you with plant reccomendations but this book is amazing. Sounds like you may already have it judging by the plans you have for your slope. Good luck.

http://www.harvestingrainwater.com/

• Celestron2000
    11 years ago