Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carress_gw

I bought 'vine peaches' seeds

Chrissy Chris
19 years ago

Does anyone have any experience with these?

I'm a novice gardener who goes at it like a veteran. I've never heard of these, and I am hoping they'll be a close second to having my own peach tree.

I also bought strawberry seeds.. My father told me the rabbits will get them before they even ripen...

I'm thinking of growing them both right in fornt of my house which has a big planter(?) type thing made of stone. I figure the proximity may intimidate the rabbits.. I could also cover the strawberries with a mesh, I think.

Any hints, warnings, tips??

Comments (6)

• lucky_p
    19 years ago

caress,
    The 'vine peach' is a small melon, in the same group with the cantaloupe(Cucumis melo). While I *guess* they're edible, they've been grown for hundreds of years mainly for their aroma - used in olden times to cover/mask body odor when bathing was not a regularly-performed ritual - ladies often carried them in their pockets to mask their own scent.
    I doubt that the fruits(melons) will taste like a peach, though they may resemble one in size and coloration.

• breezyb
    19 years ago

I agree. I assume you bought these "vine peaches" from a less than reputable nursery. To check them out, do go to this site: http://davesgarden.com/gwd/ to check them out.

If you are even remotely serious about growing edible landscaping plants, your best bet is really going to be some RESEARCH - either by gardening books or good websites.

Don't take a chance of either poisoning yourself or wasting a lot of time & effort on plants that aren't going to end up what you expect them to be.

• jkirk3279
    19 years ago

No, they're supposed to taste more like Mangos than Peaches.

And yes, they're edible.